IIHF Hall of Fame Inductees 2008 - Hockey Forum - Hockey Fan Forums - NHL Boards

World Cup Hockey World Cup Hockey Forum. With the future of the NHL's participation in Olympic Hockey in limbo, the World Cup of Hockey could become the place for all the NHL stars to battle it out for national bragging rights.


Old 12-28-2007, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,956
Hockey North Star has a little shameless behaviour in the past
Default IIHF Hall of Fame Inductees 2008

The barrier is broken. Cammi Granato, Angela James and Geraldine Heaney became the three first women to be inducted to the IIHF Hall of Fame’s player’s category. They will be joined by Mario Lemieux, Igor Larionov, Philippe Bozon and builder Art Berglund. The induction will take place in Quebec City in May.

IIHF President René Fasel and Walter L. Bush Jr, Chairman of the IIHF Hall of Fame Selection Committee, today announced the inductees to the IIHF Hall of Fame and the recipient of the Paul Loicq Award.

Six players and one builder will be officially inducted at the IIHF Hall of Fame induction ceremony during the 2008 IIHF World Championships in Quebec City, Canada. The induction date will be announced later.

“I am immensely happy that we have reached the phase in hockey history when we rightfully can induct women to the player’s category,” said IIHF President René Fasel. Almost two decades have passed since we started with the IIHF World Women Championship and the first pioneers have retired which means that the selection committee could, with perspective, evaluate their contributions to the game.

“This was a very important decision in the history of the IIHF and it feels very good that this coincides with the 100 year anniversary of the IIHF and that they will be inducted in Quebec City, Canada the country that has led the development of women’s hockey.”

The IIHF Hall of Fame was introduced in 1997 and now boasts 150 hockey greats from 22 nations.

Player’s: Cammi Granato (USA), Geraldine Heaney (CAN), Angela James (CAN), Philippe Bozon (FRA), Igor Larionov (RUS), Mario Lemieux (CAN).
Full Story
Hockey North Star is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules

Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Baseball Forum Golf Forum Boxing Forum Snowmobile Forum
Basketball Forum Soccer Forum MMA Forum PWC Forum
Football Forum Cricket Forum Wrestling Forum ATV Forum
Hockey Forum Volleyball Forum Paintball Forum Snowboarding Forum
Tennis Forum Rugby Forums Lacrosse Forum Skiing Forums
Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2