Hockey Fan Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
25,516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Aug 7, 2007, 4:04 PM EDT
ECHL Club Won 2004 and 2007 Kelly Cup Championships As Dallas’ Affiliate

FRISCO, Texas – The Dallas Stars announced today that the club has signed a two-year extension to its affiliate agreement with the Idaho Steelheads of the ECHL. The club won the 2007 Patrick J. Kelly Cup as champions of the ECHL, and also won the league title as a development affiliate of the Dallas Stars during the club’s inaugural season of 2003-04.

“We are happy to continue our affiliation with Idaho and we are expecting continued success for the Steelheads,” Dallas Stars General Manager Doug Armstrong said. “Idaho has done an excellent job as a development affiliate for the Dallas Stars, and together with Iowa in the American Hockey League, we should continue to have a solid, coordinated partnership.”

Considered the premier “AA” hockey league in North America, the ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League. Additionally, the ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 27 teams in the American Hockey League, creating a true minor league system where players can be promoted within the given parent organization.

“The Dallas Stars are an extraordinary organization to be affiliated with,” said Idaho Steelheads Head Coach Derek Laxdal. “Dallas and Iowa have proven that they’re committed to developing the best young players in their system. We’re extremely pleased to renew our partnership and look forward to working with the talented young Dallas prospects.”

The Idaho Steelheads play at the 5,006-seat Qwest Arena, which opened in downtown Boise in 1997, and the club played host to over 178,000 fans at their home games last season. During a one-year hiatus from their affiliation with Dallas in 2004-05, Idaho served as an affiliate of the NHL Phoenix Coyotes and AHL Utah Grizzlies.

Laxdal led Idaho to a regular season record of 42-24-6 last season, and the club entered the ECHL Playoffs as the National Conference's fourth-seed. Idaho defeated Stockton, Las Vegas and Alaska en route to the National Conference crown, and then topped Dayton in five games to capture their second Kelly Cup in four years. The Steelheads are just the fourth team to win multiple ECHL crowns in the league's 19 seasons.

1 - 2 of 2 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.