Hockey Fan Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,516 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just found this one, even though it's a few days old:

The New Orleans Times-Picayune reports that state Rep. John LaBruzzo (R) said yesterday that “he is studying a plan to pay poor women $1,000 to have their Fallopian tubes tied.” LaBruzzo worries that people receiving food and housing assistance “are reproducing at a faster rate than more affluent, better-educated residents”:

He said he is gathering statistics now. … “What I’m really studying is any and all possibilities that we can reduce the number of people that are going from generational welfare to generational welfare,” he said.

He said his program would be voluntary. It could involve tubal ligation, encouraging other forms of birth control or, to avoid charges of gender discrimination, vasectomies for men. It also could include tax incentives for college-educated, higher-income people to have more children, he said.

LaBruzzo said that mainstream strategies against poverty, such as education and family planning, “have repeatedly failed to solve the problem,” according to the Times-Picayune. “I don’t know if it’s a viable option…Of course people are going to get excited about it,” he said of his plan.
http://www.nola.com/news/t-p/capital/index.ssf?/base/news-6/122223371288730.xml&coll=1

I wonder if he wants to sterilize all the Wall Street types who have been receiving corporate welfare?

Daryl

·
Registered
949 Posts
tis a good idea

as long as it is consentual.....

too many people reproduce beyond their means.

·
Registered
1,993 Posts
tis a good idea

as long as it is consentual.....

too many people reproduce beyond their means.

This is so wrong on many levels that I don't even know where to begin. Why pick on the poor? The poor are not who ruining the economy; it's the greedy few who want to make obscene amounts of money off the backs of those trying to eke out a living. :p