Hockey Fan Forums banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
25,516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Twenty American Hockey League alumni have been selected to play in the 2007 National Hockey League All-Star Game, including 10 who have played in an AHL All-Star Classic.

The rosters were announced by the NHL on Saturday. The 2007 NHL All-Star Game will be played in Dallas on Jan. 24.

Among those selected to the Eastern Conference roster are former AHL All-Stars Ryan Miller, Brian Campbell, Jay Bouwmeester, Zdeno Chara, Daniel Briere, Martin St. Louis and Eric Staal. Western Conference selections include former AHL All-Stars Miikka Kiprusoff, Philippe Boucher and Jonathan Cheechoo.

All four coaches selected for the NHL All-Star Game are AHL alumni as well. Eastern Conference head coach Lindy Ruff of the Buffalo Sabres played the 1991-92 season in the American Hockey League, while Atlanta’s Bob Hartley, who will serve as the East’s assistant coach, guided Hershey to the 1997 Calder Cup championship and coached in the 1998 AHL All-Star Game. Anaheim’s Randy Carlyle, who coached the Manitoba Moose in 2004-05, will lead the Western Conference squad, and will be assisted by Nashville’s Barry Trotz, whose AHL coaching credits include the 1994 Calder Cup championship and the 1995 AHL All-Star Game.

AHL alumni in the 2007 NHL All-Star Game:

Eastern Conference

Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres
Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils
Cristobal Huet, Montreal Canadiens
Brian Campbell, Buffalo Sabres
Sheldon Souray, Montreal Canadiens
Jay Bouwmeester, Florida Panthers
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Tomas Kaberle, Toronto Maple Leafs
Daniel Briere, Buffalo Sabres
Jason Blake, New York Islanders
Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning
Eric Staal, Carolina Hurricanes

Head Coach: Lindy Ruff, Buffalo Sabres
Asst. Coach: Bob Hartley, Atlanta Thrashers

Western Conference

Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames
Philippe Boucher, Dallas Stars
Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose Sharks
Bill Guerin, St. Louis Blues
Yanic Perreault, Phoenix Coyotes
Brian Rolston, Minnesota Wild
Ryan Smyth, Edmonton Oilers

Head Coach: Randy Carlyle, Anaheim Ducks
Asst. Coach: Barry Trotz, Nashville Predators

Additionally, 15 American Hockey League alumni have been selected to participate in the annual NHL YoungStars game, to be held Jan. 23 in Dallas.

Among those chosen were 2006 Calder Cup champion Mike Green of the Washington Capitals, two-time AHL All-Star goaltender Kari Lehtonen of the Atlanta Thrashers, 2005 AHL All-Rookie forward Thomas Vanek of the Buffalo Sabres, 2005 AHL All-Star Zach Parise of the New Jersey Devils and Alexander Radulov of the Nashville Predators, who had 18 points in 10 games for the AHL's Milwaukee Admirals earlier this season.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.