Originally Posted by nossagog
Several instances of this down the stretch were given 5 minute interference penalties, which is new. Specifically for these where the puck is gone, and a player takes a free run(finishing the check my foot) at a player that has no expectations of being hit.
He had just dumped the puck in, and Brashear hit him about 1.5 seconds after he dumps it and nobody took it.
The official ruling on hitting players who just got rid of the puck is as follows.
Possession of the Puck:
The last player to touch the puck, other than the goalkeeper, shall be considered the player in possession. The player deemed in possession of the puck may be checked legally, provided the check is rendered immediately following his loss of possession.
His hit was not late enough to warrant anything, and his hit was shoulder. His Elbow came up after
the contact with a pushoff, but that is legal and common.